Awards & Honors: May

Three trophies

Dr. Robert A. Harrington, the Stephen and Suzanne Weiss Dean of Weill Cornell Medicine and provost of medical affairs at Cornell University, was one of 14 honorees at the American Heart Association's 2024 National Volunteer Award ceremony. Dr. Harrington was the recipient of the Gold Heart award, the AHA's highest honor that recognizes the transformative contribution of its volunteers.

Dr. Aubrey DeCarlo, assistant director of career and professional development in the Weill Cornell Graduate School, Dr. Roxana Mesias, diversity program manager, and Miriam Miller, associate director of career development and employer engagement in population health sciences were selected as an implementation site for the pd|hub Collection: Foundations of Career Exploration for PhD Scientists. The 20 sites chosen represent a range of universities and organizations, and will receive support in adapting and implementing evidence-based approaches from this Collection to enhance their program’s professional development for graduate students and postdoctoral scholars.

Dr. David Hoyos, doctoral student in the Tri-Institutional Program in Computational Biology and Medicine, was one of 18 fellowship recipients from the Fannie and John Hertz Foundation. This prestigious doctoral fellowship provides five years of funding to help further research in applied science, engineering and mathematics. Through a rigorous selection process, the Hertz Fellowship identifies doctoral students with the extraordinary creativity and principled leadership.

Dr. Rohan Jotwani, assistant professor of clinical anesthesiology, was named editor-in-chief of the Journal of Medical Extended Reality. Established in 2023, the open-access, peer-reviewed journal is at the forefront of the growing field of Medical Extended Reality (MXR), an interdisciplinary science focused on the role of spatial computing in healthcare. With an international board that includes members from the FDA and NIH, the journal covers virtual, augmented and mixed-reality research, alongside that of other emerging technologies.

Dr. Gunisha Kaur, associate professor of anesthesiology and medical director of the Weill Cornell Center for Human Rights, was one of 10 recipients of the New York State Assembly Women of Distinction Award from Assembly Member Rebecca Seawright. The annual Women of Distinction Award recognizes outstanding women in New York City who have achieved professional excellence and contributed significantly to their community.

Dr. Minerva Romero Arenas, assistant professor of surgery, was named president of the Latino Surgical Society. The Latino Surgical Society was established in 2017 to cultivate, nurture and support the advancement of Latinos in the surgical field through networking and professional development in both clinical and academic settings. As the society’s first appointed president, Dr. Arenas’ achievements and leadership will continue to pave the way for future generations of Latino surgeons.

Weill Cornell Medicine
Office of External Affairs
Phone: (646) 962-9476