Awards & Honors: November 2023


Dr. John Leonard, senior associate dean for innovation and initiatives, interim chair of the Weill Department of Medicine, and the Richard T. Silver Distinguished Professor of Hematology and Medical Oncology, was given the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Cancer Research and Treatment Fund. The organization funds research emphasizing the cause, prevention, treatment and cure of myeloproliferative neoplasms and other blood and solid tumor cancers.

Dr. Shari Lipner, associate professor of clinical dermatology, was elected a member of the American Dermatological Association (ADA). Founded in 1876, the ADA was the first national dermatological society in the United States. Its members are recognized leaders in dermatology research, education, organizational medicine and patient care.

Dr. Taha Merghoub, deputy director of the Sandra and Edward Meyer Cancer Center and the Margaret and Herman Sokol Professor of Oncology Research, and Dr. Jedd Wolchok, the Meyer Director of the Meyer Cancer Center and a professor of medicine, won an ASPIRE Award from the Mark Foundation for Cancer Research. The awards support research in adult and pediatric cancers that aims to answer key feasibility and proof-of-concept questions in an accelerated timeframe.

Weill Cornell Medicine
Office of External Affairs
Phone: (646) 962-9476