Awards and Honors – August 31, 2022

trophy illustration

Dr. Manikkam Suthanthiran, chief of the Division of Nephrology and Hypertension and the Stanton Griffis Distinguished Professor of Medicine, received The Medawar Prize from The Transplantation Society for his outstanding contributions to the field of transplantation. It is the highest honor bestowed by the International Transplantation Society. Dr. Suthanthiran will be presented with the award at the TTS President's Plenary Session on Sept. 14 in Buenos Aires, Argentina. 

Dr. Fabrizio Michelassi, chairman of the Department of Surgery and the Lewis Atterbury Stimson Professor of Surgery, was awarded the Founders Medal at the 63rd Annual Meeting of the Society for Surgery of the Alimentary Tract in May 2022. The society’s mission is to lead in advancing the science and practice of gastrointestinal surgery. 

Dr. Philip Stieg, chairman of Neurological Surgery and the Margaret and Robert J. Hariri Professor of Neurological Surgery, was named by Albany Medical College as the Distinguished Alumnus of the college for 2022. This marked the first time the college honored one of its Ph.D. graduates with this award.  

Weill Cornell Medicine
Office of External Affairs
Phone: (646) 962-9476