Convocation Recognizes Medical Students' Achievement

People gathering in an auditorium

Students from the Weill Cornell Medical College Class of 2023 were recognized for their outstanding achievements May 17 during Convocation. Medical students received special awards, prizes and certificates, acknowledging their exceptional academic achievement, scholarship, research, teaching and service. Convocation also honors other students, alumni, faculty and staff.

graduating medical students pose together

Click the photo to view the full Medical School Convocation Flickr gallery.

The following is a complete list of all of the award winners:

Student Awards

The Alan Van Poznak Award for Excellence in Anesthesiology
Taylor Fortson

The Society for Academic Emergency Medicine’s Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award
Jacqueline Lan Chi Tran

The Henry Adelman Memorial Award for Excellence in Geriatric Medicine
Ilan Chase Palte
Daniel Restifo

The Anthony Seth Werner, M.D., Memorial Prize
Mercy Infenyinwa Ude

The Jay Lawrence Award for Clinical Proficiency in Infectious Diseases
John Kwon

Alfred Moritz Michaelis Prize in General Medicine
Chan Hee Choi

The Clarence C. Coryell Prize in Medicine
Aleksandr Talishinsky

The David and Gladys Drusin Memorial Prize
Kaela Cohan

Joan Severino Parisi and Alfred F. Parisi, MD '63 Prize in Internal Medicine
Christopher Sam Babu

The Weiss Prize for Excellence in Clinical Medicine
Daniel Restifo

The Yvette and Seymour Feil Prize in Medicine
Katie Liu

The American Academy of Neurology Medical Student Prize for Excellence in Neurology
Ryka Renee Sehgal

The Gustav Seeligmann Prize for Efficiency in Obstetrics
Shanice Marie Beaumont

The William J. Ledger Prize in Obstetrics & Gynecology
Jenny Lin

The Edward Norton Prize in Ophthalmology
Pamela Capellan

The T. Campbell Thompson Prize for Excellence in Orthopedic Surgery
Seong Jang

The Arthur Palmer Prize for Efficiency in Otorhinolaryngology
Catherine Young Han

The James A. Moore Scholarship in Otolaryngology
Julianna Cassandra Kostas

The Herman L. Jacobius Prize in Pathology
Sarah Michelle Schrader

The George S. Meister Prize in Pediatrics
Stephanie Rager

The Mitchell Spivak Memorial Prize in Pediatrics
Maria Passarelli

The Oskar Diethelm Prize for Excellence in Psychiatry
Rachel Amelie Arnesen

The Richard N. Kohl Prize for Excellence in Psychiatry
Jenny Lin

The Faith Stewart-Gordon Prize for Excellence in Rehabilitation Medicine
Ilan Chase Palte

The Clarence C. Coryell Prize in Surgery
Alice Junling Tao

The Fabrizio Michelassi Medical Student Prize
Jeremy David Kaplitt

The G. Thomas Shires II Prize in Surgery
Brenden Amar Bratton

The Gustave J. Noback Memorial Prize in Anatomy
The Gustave J. Noback Memorial Fund for Advanced Study and Teaching in the Field of Anatomy
Alana Dinh

The Moselle and Milton Pollack Prize in Medical Ethics
Tehilla Berger

The William C. Thro Memorial Prize for Academic Achievement Pathology
Natalie Sayegh

The Barbara Slifka Global Health Award
Rachel Hao Abramson

The Elise Strang L’Esperance Prize in Public Health
Kathryn Margaret Broderick

The George G. Reader Prize in Public Health
Anita Amin

The United States Public Health Service Excellence in Public Health Award
Neville Dusaj

The Alan von Kreuter Cancer Research Prize
Ann Chen Palladino

The Dean’s Research Award
Jeremy David Kaplitt

The Gustavo Cudkowicz Memorial Prize in Immunobiology
Lior Shytayer

The Harold G. Wolff Research Prize
Abhi Chatterjee

The Sondra Lee Shaw Memorial Prize
Alice Junling Tao

The Susanna Cunningham-Rundles Medical Student Research Prize
Stephanie Rager

Area of Concentration Certificates of Excellence

  • Rachel Abramson
  • Anita Amin
  • Kyrie Anderson
  • Rachel Arnesen
  • Tahj Blow
  • Kathryn Broderick
  • Sarah Caughey
  • Abhi Chatterjee
  • Gui Zhen Chen
  • Candace Chien
  • Shabnam Eghbali
  • Jeremy Kaplitt
  • Julianna Kostas
  • Daniel Lai
  • Chimsom Orakwue
  • Ann Palladino
  • Gabriel Raab
  • Stephanie Rager
  • Daniel Restifo
  • Heba Shaaban
  • Lior Shtayer
  • Jayleecia Smith
  • Alice Tao
  • Jade Wang

Glasgow-Rubin Memorial Award
Rhiannon Christine Miller

Glasgow-Rubin Memorial Achievement Citations

  • Katie Liu
  • Rhiannon Miller
  • Sofya Norman
  • Rachel Saganty
  • Ryka Sehgal
  • Alice Tao

The Charles Horn Prize
Andrea Christina Cabassa Miskimen

The David Clayson Prize for Creativity
Hannah Hwang

The Hayworth-Gold Award for Excellence in Medical Professionalism

  • Diksha Brahmbhatt
  • Sean McCoy
  • Luisa Perez

The Henry C. and Anne Hayworth First Honor Prize
Tyler Wills

The Sidney and Viola Borkon Memorial Prize
Ian Nykaza

The John Metcalf Polk Prizes

  • Tyler Kim Khilnani
  • Rhiannon Christine Miller
  • Ray Wang

The Medical Society of the State of New York
Andrew Griswold

The Medical Student Executive Council Award
Jin Sang Pyon

The Compassionate Physician Award
Chimsom Faith Orakwue

The Good Physician Award
Kathryn Margaret Broderick

The Nelson Felix Sánchez M.D. LGBTQ+ Excellence Award
Matthew Moronta

The Paul Sherlock Prize in Internal Medicine
Daniel Lai

The Leonard P. Tow Humanism in Medicine Award
Tahj Ali Blow

Teaching Awards

The Leonard P. Tow Humanism in Medicine Award
Dr. Pamela Charney

The Senior List

  • Dr. Juliet Aizer
  • Dr. Kimberly Bloom-Feshbach
  • Dr. Pamela Charney
  • Dr. Domenick Falcone
  • Dr. Joy Howell
  • Dr. Sydney Katz
  • Dr. Keith LaScalea
  • Dr. William Levine
  • Dr. Demetri Merianos
  • Dr. Estomih Mtui
  • Dr. Anthony Ogedegbe
  • Dr. Peter Sculco
  • Dr. Kaushal Shah
  • Dr. Joshua Weaver

The Charles L. Bardes, M.D. Teaching Prize
Dr. Estomih Mtui

The Volunteer Clinical Faculty Award of Alpha Omega Alpha
Dr. Hooman Yaghoobzadeh

The 1952 Resident Physician Prize
Dr. John Mancini

The Elliott Hochstein Teaching Award
Dr. Demetri Merianos

The House Staff Teaching Award
Dr. Ezra Gabbay

The Medical Student Executive Council (First Year Teaching Award)
Dr. Kathleen Bubb

The Medical Student Executive Council (Second Year Teaching Award)
Dr. Sushil Kumar

The Richard A. Herrmann, M.D. Teaching Award
Dr. Brian Eiss

Weill Cornell Medicine
Office of External Affairs
Phone: (646) 962-9476