Convocation Honors Medical Students’ Accomplishments

Students in an auditorium

Students from the Weill Cornell Medical College Class of 2022 were recognized for their outstanding achievements during Convocation on May 18. Medical students received special awards, prizes and certificates, acknowledging their exceptional academic achievement, scholarship, research, teaching and service. Convocation also honors other students, alumni, faculty and staff.

The following is a complete list of all of the award winners:

Student Awards

The Coryell Prize in Surgery

Paolo de Angelis

The Coryell Prize

Jakyung Bang

The Alfred Moritz Michaelis Prize in Medicine

Anjana Rajan

The Oskar Diethelm Prize for Excellence in Psychiatry

Elora Basu

Kate Fruitman

The Joan Severino Parisi Prize in Internal Medicine

Elizabeth Reznik

The David and Gladys Drusin Memorial Prize

Jenny Xue

The T. Campbell Thompson Prize for Excellence in Orthopedic Surgery

Paul PJ Walker

The Mitchell Spivak Memorial Prize in Pediatrics

Cheyenne Smith 

The James A. Moore Scholarship in Otolaryngology

Peter Yao

The Gustav Seeligmann Prize for Efficiency in Obstetrics

Sunidhi Singh

The Henry C. and Anne Hayworth First Honor Prize

Ian Nykaza

The Sidney and Viola Borkon Memorial Prize

Sean McCoy

The George S. Meister Prize in Pediatrics

Kelly Madigan Banks

The Elise Strang L’Esperance Prize in Public Health

Lisa Zhang

The George G. Reader Prize in Public Health

Willam Ford

Anna Cornelius-Schecter

The G. Thomas Shires II Prize in Surgery

Nikolay Ivanov

The Alan Van Poznak Award for Excellence in Anesthesiology

Hannah Krinsky

The Richard N. Kohl Prize for Excellence in Psychiatry

Ariel Shalev

The David Clayson Prize for Creativity

Catherine Han

The Charles Horn Prize

Anna Cornelius-Schecter

The Gustave J. Noback Memorial Prize in Anatomy

William Ford

The Gustave J. Noback Memorial Fund for Advanced Study and Teaching in the Field of Anatomy

Emily Lang

The Weiss Prize for Excellence in Clinical Medicine

Carrie Sha

The Medical Society of the State of New York

Cheyenne Smith

The Yvette and Seymour Feil Prize in Medicine

Sanjeethan Baksh

The William C. Thro Memorial Prize

Luiza Perez

The Arthur Palmer Prize for Efficiency in Otorhinolaryngology

Nicola Pereira

The Faith Stewart-Gordon Prize for Excellence in Rehabilitation Medicine

Zachary Smith Crockett

The Jay Lawrence Award for Clinical Proficiency Infectious Diseases

William Ford

The Moselle and Milton Pollack Prize in Medical Ethics

Emily Lang

The Frederick M. Brown, M.D. Award for Allergy and Immunology

Rhea Fogla

The Anthony Seth Werner, M.D., Memorial Prize

Robert Wozniak

The Barbara Slifka Global Health Award

Adrienne Clermont

The Henry Adelman Memorial Award for Excellence in Geriatric Medicine

Anthony Palillo

Ariel Shalev

The Alan von Kreuter Cancer Research Prize

Nikolay Ivanov

The Society for Academic Emergency Medicine’s Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award

Gregory Han

The American Academy of Neurology Medical Student Prize for Excellence in Neurology

Anson Wang

The United States Public Health Service’s Excellence in Public Health Award

Hector Salazar Martinez

The William J. Ledger Prize in Obstetrics & Gynecology

Meridith Pollie

The Fabrizio Michelassi Medical Student Annual Award

Daniel Alfonso

The Herman L. Jacobius Prize in Pathology

Cheyanne Slocum

The Edward Norton Prize in Ophthalmology

Andrew Duong

The Dean’s Research Award

Cheyanne Slocum

The Harold G. Wolff Research Prize

Sabrina Pan

The Sondra Lee Shaw Memorial Prize

Tyler Garman

The Susanna Cunningham-Rundles Medical Student Research Prize

Chayma Boussayoud

Area of Concentration Certificates of Excellence

  • Zara Adamou
  • Elora Basu
  • Chayma Boussayoud
  • Adrienne Clermont
  • Idil Eroglu
  • Khalid Fahoum
  • Rhea Fogla
  • William Ford
  • James Gang
  • Tyler Garman
  • Radhika Ghosalkar
  • Jason Harris
  • Daniel Huang
  • Wooram Jung
  • Neil Kelly
  • Sean Kim
  • Julia Klein
  • Justin Lee
  • Brooks Martino
  • Jaime Montemayor
  • Anjana Rajan
  • Charles-Etienne Sauve
  • Sachin Shah
  • Sunidhi Singh
  • Cheyanne Slocum
  • Natasha Smith
  • Jimmy Xia
  • Lisa Zhang

The Medical Student Executive Council Award

Tyler Garman

The Paul Sherlock Prize in Internal Medicine

Alice Zhao

The John Metcalf Polk Prizes

Nathaniel Goldblatt

Elizabeth Reznik

Cheyenne Smith

The Glasgow-Rubin Memorial Achievement Citations

  • Hannah Krinsky
  • Emily Lang
  • Nicola Pereira
  • Meridith Pollie
  • Elizabeth Reznik
  • Ariel Shalev
  • Cheyenne Smith
  • Carolyn Stewart

The Hayworth-Gold Award for Excellence in Medical Professionalism

Meg Broderick

Tyler Khilnani

Alice Tao

The Compassionate Physician Award

Ariel Shalev

The Good Physician Award

Anna Cornelius-Schecter

The Leonard P. Tow Humanism Awards

William Ford

Teaching Awards

The Leonard P. Tow Humanism Awards

Dr. Juliet Aizer

The Class of 1952 Resident Physician Award

Dr. Corbyn Nchako

The House Staff Teaching Award

Dr. Dana Gurvitch

The Senior List

  • Dr. Juliet Aizer, assistant professor of clinical medicine
  • Dr. June Chan, assistant professor of clinical anesthesiology
  • Dr. Justin Choi, assistant professor of medicine
  • Dr. Laura Greisman, assistant professor of clinical medicine
  • Dr. Dana Gurvitch, assistant professor of clinical anesthesiology
  • Dr. Laura Kolbe, assistant professor of medicine
  • Dr. Demetri Merianos, associate professor of clinical surgery
  • Dr. Gregory Mints, assistant professor of medicine
  • Dr. Mayur Narayan, associate professor of surgery
  • Dr. Anthony Ogedegbe, assistant professor of clinical medicine
  • Dr. Lawrence Palmer, professor of physiology and biophysics
  • Dr. Neal Parikh, assistant professor of neurology
  • Dr. Tracy Paul, assistant professor of clinical medicine
  • Dr. David Scales, assistant professor of medicine
  • Dr. Kaushal Shah, professor of clinical emergency medicine
  • Dr. Joshua Weaver, assistant professor of clinical neurology

First Year Teaching Award

Dr. Kathleen Bubb

Second Year Teaching Award

Dr. Juliet Aizer

Volunteer Clinical Faculty Award of Alpha Omega Alpha

Dr. Jason Kendler

The Charles L. Bardes, M.D. Teaching Prize

Dr. Joseph Safdieh

The Richard A. Herrmann, M.D. Teaching Award

Dr. Dimitry Francois

The Elliot Hochstein Teaching Award

Dr. Juliet Aizer

Weill Cornell Medicine
Office of External Affairs
Phone: (646) 962-9476