Awards and Honors Across Weill Cornell Medicine - April 30, 2020

Trophies illustration

Dr. Natalia De Marco Garcia, an associate professor of neuroscience in the Feil Family Brain and Mind Research Institute, was in February awarded a 2020 Irma Hirschl/Monique Weill-Caulier Career Scientist Award.

Dr. Roy M. Gulick, Chief of the WDOM’s Division of Infectious Diseases, has been named as a Co-Chair of the NIH’s COVID-19 Treatment Guidelines. Working with two other co-chairs, Dr. Henry Masur and Dr. H. Clifford Lane of the NIH, the guidelines will draw on the knowledge of a panel of experts and will be updated frequently with scientific evidence and data to inform clinicians on how to best manage patients with COVID-19.

Dr. Matthew Robbins, assistant professor of neurology (interim), received the 2020 National Headache Foundation Lectureship Award during the 33rd annual Diamond Headache Clinic Research & Educational Foundation’s Conference, which took place Feb. 14-17 in San Diego. The award honors up-and-coming physicians and scientists who have demonstrated interest in the management of common and complex headache problems. The foundation strives to be the premier education and informational resource for those living with headache disorders, their family members, physicians, allied health professionals and health policy decision makers.

Dr. Alessandra Sugrañes, a medical genetics fellow, has been awarded the David L. Rimoin Inspiring Excellence Award by the American College of Medical Genetics Foundation. The David L. Rimoin Inspiring Excellence Award is awarded to a student, trainee, or junior faculty member who is a foundation member and whose abstract submission is chosen for its scientific excellence. Winners receive a cash award and give a presentation during the foundation’s annual Clinical Genetics meeting, which was slated for March and was canceled.

Weill Cornell Medicine
Office of External Affairs
Phone: (646) 962-9476