Awards and Honors Across Weill Cornell Medicine - December 28, 2018


Dr. Enrique Rodriguez-Boulan, The Charles and Margaret Dyson Professor in Ophthalmology Research, professor of cell and developmental biology and of cell biology in ophthalmology, has been elected for the Fellow of the American Society of Cell Biology (ASCB) Award. The ASCB Fellows award recognizes ASCB members who have made outstanding contributions to the field of cell biology and to the community of cell biologists through their service to ASCB. Dr. Rodriguez-Boulan was recognized for his scientific accomplishments, including more than 200 original papers, the training of 50 students and postdocs, and contributions to the society.

Dr. Nathaniel Hupert, associate professor of healthcare policy and research and of medicine, was named the second place winner of the International Society for Disease Surveillance’s (ISDS) Outstanding Research Articles in Biosurveillance Award, Scientific Achievement, for his article entitled “Modeling Tool for Decision Support during Early Days of an Anthrax Event.” Dr. Hupert will accept his award at the 2019 ISDS Annual Conference in San Diego in January 2019. 

Dr. Shari Lipner, assistant professor of dermatology, has been elected a member of several committees for the Women's Dermatologic Society including the Research Grant Committee, which supports the academic careers of residents, post-residency fellows, junior faculty and early-career dermatologists; and the Young Physician Committee which focuses on increasing membership and retention of young members while providing relevant career guidance and mentorship. Dr. Lipner was also elected a member of the Public Education Committee for the American Academy of Dermatology.

Dr. Chani Traube, associate professor of clinical pediatrics, has been named Chair-elect of the Intensive Care Unit Liberation Committee for the Society of Critical Care Medicine effective Feb. 1, 2019.

Dr. Philip E. Stieg, professor and chairman of the department of neurological surgery, was awarded the Ellis Island Medal of Honor. The Medal of Honor, which is an award recognized by Congress, is given annually to exceptional individuals for outstanding contributions to their field. He received the award on May 2018 at a ceremony in the Great Hall at Ellis Island.

Weill Cornell Medicine
Office of External Affairs
Phone: (646) 962-9476