Awards & Honors: January 2024


Dr. Silvia C. Formenti, chair of the Department of Radiation Oncology and the Sandra and Edward Meyer Professor of Cancer Research, was elected as a fellow of the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) Academy. The mission of the AACR Academy is to recognize and honor distinguished scientists whose scientific contributions have propelled significant innovation and progress against cancer.

Dr. Unwanaobong Nseyo, assistant professor of urology, received a 2023 Urology Care Foundation Research Scholar Award from the American Urological Association (AUA) and the Urology Care Foundation, the AUA’s official foundation. The awards support future research leaders and ensure they receive the necessary training and guidance for a successful research career. Dr. Nseyo was given the AUA New York Section E. Darracott Vaughan, Jr., MD Award.

Dr. Michael G. Stewart, chair of the Department of Otolaryngology—Head and Neck Surgery, was awarded the Binderup Prize by the Triological Society. The prize recognizes an individual whose contributions to the society reflect the qualities exemplified by its namesake, Gail Binderup. The American Laryngological, Rhinological and Otological Society, also known as the Triological Society, was founded in 1895, attracting leaders in academic and clinical otolaryngology. 

Weill Cornell Medicine
Office of External Affairs
Phone: (646) 962-9476