Awards and Honors – December 30, 2021

trophy illustration

Dr. Louis Aronne, the Sanford I. Weill Professor of Metabolic Research and a professor of clinical medicine, has been awarded the Clinician of the Year Award by the Clinical Management of Obesity Section of The Obesity Society. The Clinician of the Year Award signifies excellence in the practice of obesity medicine and distinguishes a physician as having achieved a high level of competency and understanding in obesity care.

Dr. Aliza Solomon, associate professor of clinical pediatrics, received the 2021 Distinguished Physician Award from the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation, Long Island Chapter. Dr. Solomon was selected as this year's recipient because of her "drive to discover new treatments for IBD patients and eventually a cure is a constant."

Dr. Michael E. Zenilman, professor of surgery, has been appointed a member of the Advisory Committee on Long-Term Clinical Clerkships on behalf of Chancellor Lester W. Young Jr. and the Regents of The University of the State of New York. Designated as an expert in medical education, the term of Dr. Zenilman’s appointment is from July 2021 through June 2025. This honor reflects Dr. Zenilman’s recognition in the community.

Weill Cornell Medicine
Office of External Affairs
1300 York Avenue
Box 314
New York, NY 10065 Phone: (646) 962-9476