Awards and Honors Across Weill Cornell Medicine: October 30, 2020

Trophies illustration

Dr. Zev Rosenwaks, director and physician-in-chief of the Ronald O. Perelman and Claudia Cohen Center for Reproductive Medicine and the Revlon Distinguished Professor of Reproductive Medicine in Obstetrics and Gynecology, has received a 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Society for Reproductive Medicine. The award is given to a member who has made exemplary contributions to the field of reproduction during their career and demonstrated innovation, leadership and other scholarly accomplishments that have a lasting impact on advancing clinical care, the frontiers of research in reproductive sciences, and the education of the scientific community.

Dr. Rache Simmons, associate dean for diversity and inclusion and the Anne K. and Edwin C. Weiskopf Professor of Surgical Oncology, has been awarded a 2020 Women in Medicine Summit #SheforShe award. The awards are given to those who exemplify the qualities of perseverance, resilience, leadership and/or allyship in medicine. Dr. Simmons received her award at the summit, held virtually on Oct. 9-10.

Dr. Gregory Sonnenberg, an associate professor of microbiology and immunology in medicine, was awarded the inaugural ICIS-LUMINEX John R. Kettman Award for Excellence in Interferon & Cytokine Research from the international Cytokine & Interferon Society. The award, recognizes mid-level investigators who have made outstanding contributions to the field of interferon or cytokine biology. Dr. Sonnenberg was honored for his scientific contributions to the fields of immunology and microbiology, and for his success as an independent, extramurally funded investigator.

Weill Cornell Medicine
Office of External Affairs
Phone: (646) 962-9476