For information about COVID-19, including symptoms and prevention, please read our COVID-19 patient guide. Please also consider supporting Weill Cornell Medicine’s efforts against the pandemic.

Awards and Honors Across Weill Cornell Medicine - May 29, 2020

Trophies illustration

Dr. Neha Safi, a resident in neurology at Weill Cornell Medicine, has been awarded the Sylvia Lawry Multiple Sclerosis Fellowship Grant award from the National Multiple Sclerosis (MS) Society. The Society established the Sylvia Lawry Physician Fellowship Program, named in honor of its founder, to increase the number of physicians trained in conducting clinical trials. This program provides the individual with an MD or equivalent medical degree with up to three years of formal training, under the tutelage of an established investigator, in key elements associated with conducting clinical trials in MS.

Dr. Meghan Reading Turchioe, postdoctoral associate in population health sciences, received the American Heart Association Early Career Travel Grant, awarded to presenters with top-ranked abstracts. She also received an honorarium for having a top abstract submitted to the Weill Cornell Medicine Primary Care & Hospital Medicine Innovations Symposium.

The Weill Cornell Physician Organization has awarded Healthcare Leadership Fellowships to seven physicians to foster their development as physician leaders:

  • Drs. Armin Razavi, assistant professor of clinical obstetrics and gynecology
  • Cori Green, associate professor of pediatrics
  •  Berhane Worku, assistant professor of cardiothoracic surgery
  •  Joanna Loewenstein, clinical assistant professor of medicine
  •  Ravi Sharaf, associate professor of medicine and of population health sciences
  • Rebecca Berger, assistant professor of medicine
  •  Susan Loeb-Zeitlin, assistant professor of clinical obstetrics and gynecology

    Three travel grants have also been awarded to the following physicians for their project development and mentorship:
  • Drs. Anthony Yuen, assistant professor of clinical emergency medicine and of clinical pediatrics
  • Danielle McCullough, instructor in anesthesiology
  • Haviva Veler, associate professor of clinical pediatrics

    The program, sponsored by the Michael J. Wolk Heart Foundation, was established in 2012 in recognition of the pressing need for physician leaders in the face of rapid transformations in the healthcare industry. Fifty-five Weill Cornell Medicine faculty members have been selected as Fellows during the first eight years of the program; many have assumed leadership roles within departments and on committees of Weill Cornell Medicine and NewYork-Presbyterian.

Weill Cornell Medicine
Office of External Affairs
1300 York Avenue
Box 314
New York, NY 10065 Phone: (646) 962-9476