Awards and Honors Across Weill Cornell Medicine - September 30, 2019

Trophies illustration

Dr. Michael Apuzzo, adjunct professor of neurological surgery, received the Bahcesehir University Medal of Science, which honors contributions to the field of medicine. Professor Türker Kılıç, dean of the BAU School of Medicine and chair of the Department of Neurosurgery, presented the medal to Dr. Apuzzo in a ceremony in Istanbul attended by medical students and young neurosurgeons.

Dr. Lewis C. Cantley, the Meyer Director of the Sandra and Edward Meyer Cancer Center at Weill Cornell Medicine and NewYork-Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Medical Center, has been named a 2019 winner of the Horwitz Prize, awarded for work on a critical cancer pathway. Dr.  Cantley's laboratory discovered the PI3K signaling pathway in the mid-1980s. His team showed that PI3K triggers cells to take up glucose in response to insulin and other growth factors and traced the cascade of molecular signals that interact with PI3K to control cell growth.

Dr. Anne Clark-Raymond, a fellow in child and adolescent psychiatry and a graduate of Weill Cornell Medicine’s and NewYork-Presbyterian’s General Psychiatry Residency Program, received a 2019 American Psychiatric Association/ American Psychiatric Association Foundation Leadership Fellowship. The fellowship program aims to develop national leaders in the field of organized psychiatry by offering psychiatry trainees opportunities to interact with national thought leaders in the field and to further develop their professional leadership skills, networks and psychiatric experience. The fellowship runs from July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2021.

Dr. Neera Gupta, associate professor of pediatrics and director of research at the Pediatric Inflammatory Bowel Disease Center, has been named a Take Steps Healthcare Honoree by the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation.  Dr. Gupta will be honored at the Take Steps awards celebration on October 4.

Dr. Rupa Gopalan Juthani, assistant professor of neurological surgery, was awarded the American Brain Tumor Association Young Investigator Award at the 2019 American Association of Neurological Surgeons’ annual scientific meeting April 13-17 in San Diego. Dr. Juthani was honored for her abstract, “Targeted Ultra-Small Nanoparticles as a Multi-Modal Platform for Enhanced Drug Delivery to Primary and Metastatic Brain Tumors.” Her abstract tackles the difficulties of treating malignant brain tumors due to issues with drug penetration and diffusion in the central nervous system.

Dr. Shino Murakami, a postdoctoral fellow in Dr. Samie Jaffrey's lab, has been awarded a three-year fellowship from the Department of Defense Breast Cancer Program. Dr. Murakami received the award on April 1 for her fellowship project entitled “Role of RNA Methylation in Breast Cancer.”

Weill Cornell Medicine
Office of External Affairs
Phone: (646) 962-9476