Prestigious Awards and Prizes Presented to Faculty and Students

Students receive their Siegel Family Student Prizes April 29 during the Salute to Scholarship10th Anniversary ceremony. From left: Dr. Augustine M.K. Choi, Eliza Gentzler ’19, Shobana Ramasamy ’19, Paul Paik ’20, Amber Hamilton ’22, Priyanka Narayan ’22, Sven Walderich ’20, Joel Jose Nario ’21, John Chae ’21(not pictured) and Dr. Yoon Kang. Credit: Studio Brooke

Eight Weill Cornell Medicine faculty members were honored with annual awards at Convocation on May 29 and Commencement on May 30 for their exemplary achievements.

Dr. B. Robert Meyer, a professor of clinical medicine, received the Siegel Family Faculty Award, considered the "Nobel prize for teaching" by Weill Cornell Medicine leadership. The award honors an outstanding Weill Cornell Medicine faculty member who has a record of dedicated educational service to the institution.

The Siegel Family Award for Outstanding Medical Research was bestowed upon Dr. John Blenis, the Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Professor in Cancer Research and a professor of pharmacology, and Dr. David Lyden, the Stavros S. Niarchos Professor in Pediatric Cardiology and a professor of pediatrics and of cell and developmental biology. They were recognized for their exceptional professional achievement and scientific innovation, as well as a commitment to positively impact future generations of researchers.

Dr. Melissa Frey, M.D. ’10, an assistant professor of obstetrics and gynecology, was awarded the Siegel Family Faculty Development Prize. Established in 2018, the prize recognizes an early-career faculty member for exemplary clinical and research contributions, as well as teaching and mentoring medical students.

Dr. Arthur T. Evans, a professor of medicine, was named the inaugural winner of the Dean’s Award for Excellence in Mentorship. This award recognizes a faculty member who demonstrates an outstanding commitment to supporting colleagues to become academic leaders in clinical care, research or education.

Dr. Kimberly C. Sippel, associate professor of ophthalmology, was awarded the Donald J. D’Amico, M.D., Prize for Excellence in Ophthalmology. Now in its second year, the award acknowledges an outstanding faculty member in the Department of Ophthalmology.

Dr. Sunday Clark, director of research and associate professor of epidemiology research in emergency medicine and assistant professor of epidemiology research in healthcare policy and research, was awarded the Neal Flomenbaum, M.D., Prize for Excellence in Emergency Medicine. The award honors an outstanding emergency medicine faculty member who demonstrates clinical skill and dedication to the field of emergency medicine.

Dr. Jonathan Zippin, associate professor of dermatology, was awarded the Richard D. Granstein, M.D., Prize for Excellence in Dermatology. Now in its second year, this award acknowledges professional achievement, clinical skill and research contributions in the field of dermatology.

In addition, eight students — two from each class — on April 29 received the Siegel Family Student Prizes, which carry $25,000 scholarships to help support and enhance their medical education at Weill Cornell Medical College:

  • Eliza Gentzler ’19
  • Shobana Ramasamy ’19
  • Paul Paik ’20
  • Sven Walderich ’20
  • John Chae ’21
  • Joel Jose Nario ’21
  • Amber Hamilton ’22
  • Priyanka Narayan ’22

The students were selected for the scholarships based upon a demonstrated financial need, high academic achievement and leadership potential in their fields.

Weill Cornell Medicine
Office of External Affairs
Phone: (646) 962-9476