Awards and Honors Across Weill Cornell Medicine - April 30, 2019


Dr. Antonio Gotto, dean emeritus, has been elected president of the National Lipid Association. The association’s mission is to enhance the practice of lipid management in clinical medicine. Dr. Gotto will begin his term May 19, 2019.

Dr. Neel Mehta, assistant professor of clinical anesthesiology, was named president-elect of the Eastern Pain Association for the term starting in 2020 and Dr. Lisa Witkin, assistant professor of anesthesiology, was elected to the directors-at-large board. The association is a regional organization of pain specialists including physicians, psychologists, nurses and basic scientists dedicated to promoting clinical care, pain-related research, education and professional practice.

Dr. Scott Tagawa, the Richard A. Stratton Associate Professor in Hematology and Oncology, and associate professor of clinical medicine and of clinical urology, was elected a fellow in the American College of Physicians (ACP). The ACP is a national organization of internists, the largest medical-specialty organization, and second-largest physician group in the United States. Members of the ACP include internists, internal medicine subspecialists, medical students, residents and fellows.

The Weill Cornell Physician Organization has awarded Healthcare Leadership Fellowships to seven physicians to foster their development as physician leaders. The program, sponsored by the Michael J. Wolk Heart Foundation, was established in 2012 in recognition of the pressing need for physician leaders in the face of rapid transformations in the healthcare industry. Forty-seven Weill Cornell faculty members have been selected as fellows during the first seven years of the program; many have assumed leadership roles within departments and on committees of Weill Cornell Medicine and NewYork-Presbyterian. The program seeks to prepare the “leaders of tomorrow” to develop innovative solutions for efficient, patient-centered and cost-effective healthcare delivery. Fellows are supported with leadership training opportunities, mentoring and engagement with nationally known leaders.

 Congratulations to this year’s fellows:

Weill Cornell Medicine
Office of External Affairs
Phone: (646) 962-9476