Awards and Honors Across Weill Cornell Medicine - November 29, 2018


Dr. Mary Crow, the Joseph P. Routh Professor of Rheumatic Diseases in Medicine, physician-in-chief at Hospital for Special Surgery (HSS), and chief of rheumatology at Weill Cornell Medicine and NewYork-Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Medical Center, received the 2018 Presidential Gold Medal from the American College of Rheumatology (ACR) during its annual meeting on Oct. 20 in Chicago. Recognizing outstanding career achievements in rheumatology, the Presidential Gold Medal is the highest honor that ACR presents to one individual each year. Winners have made important contributions to clinical medicine, research, education and administration. Dr. Crow is the second woman to receive this distinction.

Dr. Jyotishman Pathak, the Frances and John L. Loeb Professor of Medical Informatics, chief of the Division of Health Informatics and professor of healthcare policy and research, has been elected a fellow of the American College of Medical Informatics (ACMI). Dr. Pathak was one of 18 fellows inducted into the college on Nov. 4 during the American Medical Informatics Association 2018 Annual Symposium, which presented leading-edge scientific research on biomedical and health informatics. ACMI is an honorary college of elected informatics fellows from the United States and abroad who have made significant and sustained contributions to the field of medical informatics.

Dr. Joseph Shin, assistant professor of medicine and co-medical director at the Weill Cornell Center for Human Rights, was one of two recipients of the 2018 Felix A. Fishman Awards on Nov. 15. The awards are given by New York Lawyers for the Public Interest (NYLPI) every year to recognize the work of community lawyers and advocates who demonstrate a commitment to expanding access to justice. 

Weill Cornell Medicine
Office of External Affairs
Phone: (646) 962-9476