Awards and Honors Across Weill Cornell Medicine - January 30, 2018


Dr. Arnab Ghosh, an assistant professor of clinical medicine, was in March accepted into the NewYork Presbyterian Leadership, Education and Development for Physicians (LEAD) Academy. The academy is an 18-month training program for early career physicians demonstrating high potential as future leaders. A reception was held June 15 in New York.

Dr. Roberta Marongiu, an assistant professor of neuroscience research in neurological surgery, and of research in neuroscience, was in March named to the Interstellar Initiative, co-sponsored by the New York Academy of Sciences and the Japan Agency for Medical Research and Development. The initiative is a career development program intended to cultivate and mentor promising young investigators from across the world who are working in the fields of cancer, regenerative medicine and neuroscience. The academy aims to drive innovative solutions to society’s challenges by advancing scientific research, education and policy.

Dr. Jouliana Sadek, a postdoctoral associate in pathology and laboratory medicine, received a $105,000, two-year Postdoctoral Fellowship Grant from the Lymphoma Research Foundation for her project “Targeting Metabolism in Plasma Cell Neoplasms Using a Nucleoside Analog.” The foundation funds innovative lymphoma research and provides patients and healthcare professionals up-to-dateinformation about lymphoma.

Dr. Susan Samuels, an assistant professor of clinical psychiatry and of clinical pediatrics, won the Irma Bland Award for Excellence in Teaching from the American Psychiatry Association during its annual meeting in May. The award recognizes APA members who have made outstanding and sustaining contributions to resident education in psychiatry in a salaried or voluntary capacity. The association aims to ensure humane care and effective treatment for all persons with mental illness, including substance use disorders.

Dr. Parmanand Singh, an assistant professor of medicine and of medicine in radiology, received the Editor’s Choice Award from the Journal of Nuclear Medicine on June 11 for his manuscript “GM-CSF Enhances Macrophage Glycolytic Activity In Vitro and Improves Detection of Inflammation In Vivo.” The award recognizes the top-three basic science investigation manuscripts published in 2016 in the journal. The journal is published by the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging.

Weill Cornell Medicine
Office of External Affairs
Phone: (646) 962-9476