Awards and Honors Across Weill Cornell Medicine - October 27, 2017


Dr. Donna Anthony, a clinical associate professor of psychiatry, received the Nancy C.A. Roseske Certificate of Excellence in Medical Student Education from the American Psychiatry Association during its annual meeting in May. The award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding and sustaining contributions to medical student education. The association aims to ensure humane care and effective treatment for all persons with mental illness, including substance use disorders. 

Dr. Leonard N. Girardi, chairman of the Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery, the O. Wayne Isom Professor of Cardiothoracic Surgery and a professor of cardiothoracic surgery, was in May appointed a member of the American Surgical Association. The oldest surgical association in the United States, the organization strives to promote and develop the science of general and subspecialty surgery while advancing the standards of the surgical profession.

Dr. Roger Hartl, a professor of neurological surgery, received the 2017 Neurosurgery Top Spine & Peripheral Nerve Paper of the Year from the Congress of Neurological Surgeons for his paper “Lumbar Spinal Stenosis Associated with Degenerative Lumbar Spondylolisthesis: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis of Secondary Fusion Rates Following Open vs. Minimally Invasive Decompression.” The congress aims to enhance health and improve lives through the advancement of neurosurgical education and scientific exchange. Dr. Hartl presented the findings of his paper at the congress’ annual meeting, held Oct. 11-17 in Boston.

Dr. Robin Kalish, an associate professor of obstetrics and gynecology, was named a Healthcare Leadership Fellow by Weill Cornell Medicine and the Weill Cornell Physician Organization to foster her development as a physician leader. The fellowship seeks to prepare the “leaders of tomorrow” to develop innovative solutions for efficient, patient-centered and cost-effective healthcare delivery. Dr. Kalish will be supported with leadership training opportunities, mentoring and engagement with nationally known leaders.

Sarah Karinja, a medical student in Dr. Jason Spector’s lab, received the 2017 Leonard R. Rubin Award from the American Association of Plastic Surgeons for her paper “Better Living Through Chemistry: A Novel Breast Implant Surface Coating Significantly Reduces Periprosthetic Capsule Formation.” The association aims to advance the science and art of plastic surgery through surgical education, research, scientific presentations and professional interaction. As part of the prize, Karinja will present her paper at the European Association of Plastic Surgeons’ annual meeting in May 2018 in Madrid, Spain. 

Dr. Joel Stein, chairman of the Department of Rehabilitation Medicine and a professor of rehabilitation medicine, won the 2017 C. Miller Fisher Neuroscience Vision Award from the American Heart Association and American Stroke Association (ASA). The award honors an individual in the field of neuroscience who has significantly influenced the mission of the American Stroke Association. The ASA is a division of the American Heart Association, which funds research, fights for public health policies and provides tools and information about heart disease and stroke. Dr. Stein accepted the award Oct. 26 at the Northeast Cerebrovascular Consortium annual summit in Newport, R.I.

Weill Cornell Medicine
Office of External Affairs
Phone: (646) 962-9476