Awards and Honors Across Weill Cornell Medicine - September 29, 2017


Dr. Adeline Sylvie Eudoxie Berger, a postdoctoral associate in pathology and laboratory medicine, won in January a Prostate Cancer Research Program Early Investigator Research Award from the U.S. Department of Defense for her project “ERG Involvement in Treatment Resistance of Metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancers.”  The award, which includes a $125,000 grant awarded over two years that began April 1, supports prostate cancer research training opportunities for postdoctoral trainees who are recent doctoral graduates.

Dr. Frank Chervenak, the chairman of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, and the Given Foundation Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, was awarded the Presidential Award from the International Academy of Perinatal Medicine for his outstanding contributions to international perinatal medicine. The academy aims to protect and promote the health of pregnant women, fetal patients and newborns globally. Dr. Chervenak received the award, symbolized by a “Golden Amnioscope,” on Feb. 18 at the academy’s annual meeting in Khartoum, Sudan.

Dr. Ernie Esquivel, an assistant professor of clinical medicine, was inducted into the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society, signifying a lasting commitment to scholarship, leadership, professionalism and service. Dr. Esquivel was officially inducted March 18 at the University of Virginia School of Medicine.

Dr. Richard Granstein, the chairman of the Department of Dermatology and the George W. Hambrick, Jr. Professor of Dermatology, won the Award of Excellence from the Association for Psychoneurocutaneous Medicine of North America (APMNA) for his outstanding commitment and services to the association. The association comprises dermatologists, psychiatrists, psychologists and allied health professionals who are dedicated to promoting the awareness of skin and mind interaction and the role of psychoneuroimmunology in skin diseases. Dr. Granstein received his award on March 2 at the association’s annual meeting in Orlando.

Dr. Mark Lachs, the Irene F. and I. Roy Psaty Distinguished Professor of Clinical Medicine and a professor of medicine, was named president of the American Federation for Aging Research, a national non-profit organization that aims to support and advance healthy aging through biomedical research. Dr. Lachs will serve a two-year term.

Dr. Michael Satlin, an assistant professor of medicine, and Dr. Matthew Greenblatt, an assistant professor of pathology and laboratory medicine, won a Young Physician-Scientist Award from the American Society of Clinical Investigation. The society seeks to support the scientific efforts, educational needs and clinical aspirations of physician-scientists to improve human health. Its Young Physician-Scientist Award recognizes young investigators who are supported by NIH K or similar significant career-development awards, are early in their first faculty appointment and have made notable achievements in their research. Dr. Satlin and Dr. Greenblatt received the award April 21 at the society’s 2017 Joint Meeting in Chicago.

Dr. Hagen Tilgner, an assistant professor of neuroscience, was awarded a 2017-18 Leon Levy Foundation Fellowship in Neuroscience. Leon Levy fellowships were established to expand on Levy’s interest in neuroscience and the functioning of the brain to better understand its impact on human behavior. The Leon Levy Foundation encourages and supports excellence in six broad areas including brain research and science. Dr. Tilgner’s research focuses on understanding how different isoforms expand on simple gene expression measurements in specifying cellular function in the nervous system and disease. He will use the Leon Levy fellowship to study heterogeneity in RNA isoform usage across brain regions.

Four Weill Cornell Medicine doctors in March were appointed fellows of the Weill Cornell Healthcare Leadership Fellows Program: Dr. Arash Salemi, the Carrie and David Landew associate professor of Cardiothoracic Surgery; Dr. Paul Fenyves, an assistant professor of medicine; Dr. Allison Gorman, an associate professor of pediatrics; and Dr. Stephen Oh, an assistant professor of surgery. The program seeks to identify and foster the development of Weill Cornell Medicine’s “leaders of tomorrow.”


Weill Cornell Medicine
Office of External Affairs
Phone: (646) 962-9476