You are here

Awards and Honors Across Weill Cornell Medicine - Week of May 27 - June 3

Awards and Honors

A journal article authored by Dr. Lawrence Casalino, chief of the Division of Health Policy and Economics, the Livingston Farrand Professor of Public Health and a professor of healthcare policy and research, was on April 19 awarded the John A. Benson Jr., MD Professionalism Article Prize from the American Board of Internal Medicine Foundation. The prize recognizes outstanding contributions to the growing body of peer-reviewed journal articles that document the effect of medical professionalism on improving healthcare. The foundation honored Dr. Casalino's article "Physician Satisfaction and Physician Well-Being: Should Anyone Care," published in February in Professions & Professionalism, which analyzed relationships between physician satisfaction, physician wellbeing and quality of care, and created a model of the potential consequences of physician dissatisfaction.

Dr. Dylan Gee, an assistant professor of psychology in psychiatry, was selected by World Economic Forum as one of its Young Scientists for 2016. The organization each year chooses 50 scientists worldwide who are under the age of 40 and represent a variety of disciplines, recognizing their demonstrated commitment to public service, exceptional creativity, and their role in integrating scientific knowledge into society for the public good. The organization provides chosen scientists with opportunities to meet with policy leaders, decision-makers and entrepreneurs throughout the year. The World Economic Forum also provides continuous support through its academic and expert networks, as well as engagement opportunities with its projects and initiatives. The forum is a not-for-profit foundation working to foster collaboration among diverse society leaders in order to improve the overall state of the world.

Dr. Michael A. Perelman, a clinical professor emeritus of psychology in psychiatry, received the American Psychological Association's James W. Maddock Faculty Award for 2016. The award is given annually to a graduate-level, internship, or postdoctoral-level teacher who demonstrates excellence in the teaching of sexuality and sex therapy as a stand-alone class or as part of a class on a broader topic. Dr. Perelman accepted the award during the association's annual meeting in May in Atlanta.

Weill Cornell Medicine
Office of External Affairs
1300 York Ave.
Box 314
New York, NY 10065 Phone: (646) 962-9564