You are here

Awards and Honors Across Weill Cornell Medical College - Week of May 16 - May 23

Dr. Brian Bosworth, the Anne and Ken Estabrook Clinical Scholar in Gastroenterology and an associate professor of medicine (education), was elected president of the New York Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy for 2014. The society is focused on education but has also been actively involved with local and national research, health and legislative initiatives, including the New York City campaign on colorectal cancer.

Dr. Koen Van Besien, a professor of medicine and a professor of pathology and laboratory medicine, was elected to the American Society of Hematology's Scientific Committee on Transplantation Biology and Cellular Therapies for a three-year term beginning in 2014. The American Society of Hematology is the world's largest professional society concerned with the causes and treatments of blood disorders. Its transplantation biology scientific committee is focused on the biology of blood and marrow transplantation and covers the clinical areas of hematopoietic cell transplantation and related adoptive cell therapies.

Dr. Paraskevi Giannakakou, an associate professor of pharmacology and an associate professor of pharmacology in medicine, was selected as president-elect for the World Hellenic Biomedical Association for a four-year term beginning in 2014. The association's goal is to expand the network and enhance the scientific profile of Greek and Cypriot physicians and bioscientists abroad.

Weill Cornell Medicine
Office of External Affairs
1300 York Ave.
Box 314
New York, NY 10065 Phone: (646) 962-9564