You are here

Dr. Reidenberg to Receive Top Pharmacology Award

WCM placeholder

Dr. Marcus M. Reidenberg, professor of pharmacology, medicine and public health, has been selected to receive the 2011 Torald Sollmann Award from the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics. The award was established to commemorate the pioneering work of Dr. Torald Sollmann in the fields of pharmacological investigation and education.

Dr. Reidenberg is being recognized for his outstanding and productive research career; his significant contributions to medicine utilizing education and research; and unparalleled service to ASPET.

Throughout his 50-year research career, Dr. Reidenberg has studied clinical pharmacology, specifically the reasons for individual differences in response to medications. He recognized that individual differences in dose-response could be used to improve therapeutics, and he moved the concept of individualized drug therapy into the mainstream. Dr. Reidenberg raised the banner of addressing control of symptoms in 1982 and over the past 25 years the broad concept of symptom control has gained mainstream acceptance in medicine. More recently, Dr. Reidenberg has been researching treatment of chronic pain and the pharmacology of gossypol for reproductive health.

The ASPET–Torald Sollmann Award will be presented to Dr. Reidenberg April 9, 2011, at the Annual Meeting of the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics Meeting in Washington, D.C.

Dr. Walter Riker, former chairman of the Medical College's Department of Pharmacology, received the Torald Sollmann Award in 1986.

Weill Cornell Medicine
Office of External Affairs
1300 York Ave.
Box 314
New York, NY 10065 Phone: (646) 962-9564